When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect (at least one reported within the manufacturer’s minimum express warranty 1 year or 12,000 miles), 2 unsuccessful repair attempts of a serious safety defect (at least one reported within the shorter of the warranty period, 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase), or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days (at least 15 days within the warranty period).
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. The owner should receive replacement or refund within 40 calendar days of the request. Note: Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.
- State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
Read Washington’s Lemon Law Statute.
See how well Washington’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Washington Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
Lemon Law Advice and Resources from the Attorney General of Washington.