Skip to content

State Rankings of Lemon Laws

  • New Jersey 1 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail and request a return receipt. The manufacturer has 10 days following the receipt to make a final repair attempt. The owner may notify the manufacturer at any time after the second repair attempt or after the first repair attempt in the case of a serious safety defect.
    Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade A

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a serious safety defect likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 20 calendar days within the shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles from purchase.

  • Washington 2 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. The owner should receive replacement or refund within 40 calendar days of the request. Note: Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.

    State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade A

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect (at least one reported within the manufacturer’s minimum express warranty 1 year or 12,000 miles), 2 unsuccessful repair attempts of a serious safety defect (at least one reported within the shorter of the warranty period, 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase), or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days (at least 15 days within the warranty period).

  • Rhode Island 3 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the dealer or manufacturer, who will have 7 days to make a final repair attempt.

    Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.
    Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B+

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles from purchase.

  • Hawaii 4 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send written notice to the manufacturer. The manufacturer then has the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.
    Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B+

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a defect likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles from purchase.

  • Ohio 5 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer, its agent, or the dealer.

    Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B+

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the same nonconformity, 8 total repairs of any nonconformity, 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 18,000 miles from purchase.

  • New York 6 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide notice to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B+

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles from purchase.

  • Maine 7 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer or dealer. The manufacturer has 7 business days after the receipt of that notice to make a final repair attempt.
    Note: State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a serious failure of brakes or steering, or the vehicle is out of service for 15 business days within shorter of 3 years or 18,000 miles from purchase, or the warranty period. Applies to subsequent owners within original period.

  • Florida 8 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified or express mail, who will have 10 days to notify the consumer of a repair facility plus an additional 10 calendar days for a final repair attempt after delivery to the designated dealer.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repairs attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 15 calendar days within 24 months of purchase.

  • Texas 9 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer.

    State-run arbitration mechanism available.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect, 2 unsuccessful repair attempts of a serious safety hazard, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within the shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase, or the warranty period.

  • District of Columbia 10 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer. District-run arbitration mechanism available.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days, or 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a safety-related defect within 2 years or 18,000 miles of purchase.

  • Idaho 11 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send written notice to the manufacturer or dealer. The manufacturer will have the opportunity to make one final repair attempt.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 repair attempt of complete failure of braking or steering defect likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase.

  • California 12 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send direct written notice to the manufacturer at the address specified in their owner’s manual. This covers small businesses with up to 5 vehicles under 10,000 pounds.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, vehicle is out of service for 30 days, or 2 unsuccessful repair attempts for a defect likely to cause death or serious injury within 18 months or 18,000 miles of purchase or a “reasonable” number of repair attempts during the entire express warranty period.

  • Georgia 13 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by overnight or certified mail and request return receipt. The manufacturer has 7 days to notify the consumer of a repair facility, and the owner has 14 days from the manufacturer’s receipt of the mailed notice to deliver their vehicle to the designated repair facility. The facility has 28 calendar days from the manufacturer’s receipt of the mailed notice to make a final repair attempt. A state-run arbitration mechanism is available.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a serious safety defect, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within 24 months or 24,000 miles of purchase.

  • West Virginia 14 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a defect likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Massachussetts 15 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide notice to the manufacturer or dealer. The manufacturer or dealer has 7 business days to make a final repair attempt.
    Note: State-run arbitration mechanism available.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 10 business days within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles from purchase.

  • Minnesota 16 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a total braking or steering loss likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 2 years from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Iowa 17 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified registered mail. The manufacturer has 10 calendar days from receipt of that notice to make a final repair attempt on the vehicle.

    Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a nonconformity likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase.

  • New Hampshire 18 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer, distributor, agent, or dealer using forms provided by the manufacturer. The manufacturer will have the opportunity for a final repair attempt before arbitration.
    Note: State-run arbitration mechanism available. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect by the same dealer or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the warranty period.

  • Virginia 19 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. If 3 unsuccessful repairs are completed or the vehicle has been out of service for 30 days before the notice, the manufacturer has 1 more opportunity to make a repair attempt within 15 days.

    State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a serious safety defect, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within 18 months of purchase.

  • Connecticut 20 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report the problem to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer. Written notice to the manufacturer is only required if specified in the owner’s manual or warranty.

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase; or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a defect likely to cause death or serious injury within 1 year of purchase or the warranty period.

  • Wisconsin 21 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer or dealer. (Note: The owner should receive a replacement or refund within 30 calendar days after the offer to return the title.)

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Arkansas 22 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must notify the manufacturer by certified or registered mail. The manufacturer has 10 days to notify the customer of a repair facility, and the facility will then have 10 days to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade B-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repairs, 5 total repairs of any nonconformity, or 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious injury within longer of 24 months or 24,000 miles from date of purchase.

  • Maryland 23 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must notify the manufacturer by certified mail and request a return receipt. The manufacturer or factory branch has 30 calendar days from the receipt of the notice to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of braking or steering system, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 15 months or 15,000 miles from purchase.

  • Vermont 24 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer (on provided forms) after the third repair attempt or 30 days out of service. Arbitration must be held within 45 after the written notice, during which time the manufacturer will make 1 final repair attempt. (Note: Repairs must be done by the same authorized agent or dealer, unless the owner shows good cause for taking the vehicle to a different agent or dealer.)

    State-run arbitration mechanism available.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect (at least the first repair attempt must be within warranty) or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the warranty period.

  • Delaware 25 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within 1 year of purchase or the warranty period.

  • North Carolina 26 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. The manufacturer will only have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt within 15 calendar days of receipt if required in the warranty or owner’s manual.

    Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect within the shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase, or the warranty period; or the vehicle is out of service for 20 business days during any 12-month period of the warranty

  • Oregon 27 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide direct written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempts of a serious safety defect likely to cause death or injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase.

  • South Carolina 28 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt within 10 business days. This only applies if the manufacturer informed the owner of such at the time of sale.

    State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade C-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles from purchase.

  • South Dakota 29 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer has 7 calendar days to notify the owner of a repair facility and make a final repair attempt.

    Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.

    Grade C

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the vehicle (1 of which must have occurred within 1 year or 12,000 miles of purchase) or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase.

  • Indiana 30 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send written notice to the manufacturer only if required in the warranty.
    Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 18 months or 18,000 miles of purchase.

  • Michigan 31 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must notify the manufacturer by certified mail and request a return receipt. The manufacturer has 5 business days to make a final repair attempt. The owner may notify the manufacturer after the third repair attempt of the defect.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect within 2 years of the date of the first unsuccessful repair attempt or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days, within 1 year of purchase or the warranty period.

  • Montana 32 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles of purchase.

  • Arizona 33 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer who will have the opportunity for a final repair attempt.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repairs of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of the warranty period, 2 years or 24,000 miles from the date of purchase.

  • Alabama 34 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must notify the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer will have the opportunity for a final repair attempt within 14 calendar days.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    New cars only

  • Pennsylvania 35 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The vehicle must be delivered to an authorized service and repair facility. If delivery is impossible, the owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer or the repair facility will oblige them to pay for the delivery.

    The manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles from purchase, or the warranty period.

  • New Mexico 36 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Oklahoma 37 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    Qualification: 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Tennessee 38 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer will have 10 calendar days to make a final repair attempt.

    Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Wyoming 39 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide direct written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.

    Grade D

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within 1 year of purchase.

  • Nebraska 40 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer via certified mail. The manufacturer will have the opportunity for a final repair attempt.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 40 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Kentucky 41 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles from purchase.

  • Alaska 42 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send certified mail to the manufacturer and dealer (or the repair agent) notifying them that the problem has not been corrected in a reasonable number of attempts and demand refund or replacement within 60 days. The manufacturer then has 30 calendar days for the final repair attempt.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    New cars only

  • Mississippi 43 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. The manufacturer has 10 business days to make the final repair attempt after delivery to a designated dealer.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 15 days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Kansas 44 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide actual notice to the manufacturer. State has certified
    guidelines for arbitration.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 10 total repairs of the vehicle, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Utah 45 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer.

    Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Nevada 46 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration.

    Grade D-

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Missouri 47 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer. The manufacturer has 10 calendar days to make the final repair attempt after delivery to the designated dealer.

    Grade F

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Louisiana 48 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must report to the manufacturer or dealer.
    Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade F

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 90 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase, or the warranty period.

  • North Dakota 49 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must provide direct written notice to the manufacturer, who will have the opportunity for a final repair attempt. The manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to the owner’s refund or replacement.

    State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.

    Grade F

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.

  • Colorado 50 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer will have an opportunity to make a final repair.

    Grade F

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within 1 year of purchase or the warranty.

  • Illinois 51 of 51

    Required actions and Timeline:

    The owner must send written notice to the manufacturer. The manufacturer will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.

    Grade F

    When does a Vehicle Qualify?

    4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles of purchase

What is a lemon? A lemon is an (often new) vehicle that has manufacturing or design defects that may impact its safety or value and cannot reasonably be repaired by the manufacturer. The defect may be so great that the vehicle is unable to serve its intended purpose.

What is a Lemon Law? A variety of state and federal laws protect owners and lessees when their cars experience safety or quality issues that cannot be fixed by the dealer or manufacturer.  As seen in our state-by-state rankings, states vary greatly in the protections offered, making it important to understand both state and federal protections if something goes wrong with your car. If you believe that you’ve been saddled with a lemon, the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Library is here to help!

Federal Rules

In certain circumstances, federal laws may be helpful to lemon owners:

  • The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act protects consumers by preventing manufacturers from drafting unfair warranties and making it easier for consumers to file warranty suits.
  • Thanks to Federal Emissions Warranties, vehicle owners are protected from the cost of repairs associated with some emissions-related failures that result from manufacturing defects or cause the vehicle to exceed federal emissions standards. Manufacturers are required to provide this warranty on vehicles that are less than five years old and have been driven fewer than 50,000 miles. For more information, consult this EPA Emissions Pamphlet.

Secret Warranties

Some states have Secret Warranty Laws that offer protections to ensure fairness in repairs.
When vehicles with expired written warranties are found to have a major defect, the manufacturer may establish a Secret Warranty (sometimes called a policy adjustment or service campaign). The manufacturer alerts their regional offices of the new policy, but may not ever notify dealers and do not notify the consumer. This means that only consumers who complain loudly enough about the defect get covered by the secret warranty—and the manufacturer will save a large sum of money on all of the vehicle owners who don't get their vehicles repaired. The Center for Auto Safety continues to fight against this consumer abuse.
If you live in California, Connecticut, Maryland, Virginia, or Wisconsin, you may be protected by a secret warranty law.


More Resources

Small Claims Courts are designed to provide a fast, efficient and inexpensive way to resolve claims of individuals against merchants or large corporations, are potentially a great resource to consumers. They are one of the best ways for consumers to settle disputes with a dealer, service station, repair shop, garage, or auto manufacturer. Learn more.
Qualifications for Lemon Law protections may differ state-by-state. Learn more about how your state defines a Lemon.
In Canada? Under the Canadian Motor Vehicle Arbitration Plan (CAMVAP), you may also be protected.

National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) NMVTIS is designed to protect consumers from fraud and unsafe vehicles and to keep stolen vehicles from being resold. NMVTIS is also a tool that assists states and law enforcement in deterring and preventing title fraud and other crimes. Consumers can use NMVTIS to access important vehicle history information.
Lemon Law News
Consumer Alert: How Well do State Lemon Laws Protect You?