When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of a defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 1 year from purchase or the warranty period.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must report to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer.
- Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.
See how well Utah’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Utah Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
Lemon Law Advice from the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Consumer Protection.