When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the vehicle (1 of which must have occurred within 1 year or 12,000 miles of purchase) or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 24 months or 24,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail. The manufacturer has 7 calendar days to notify the owner of a repair facility and make a final repair attempt.
- Manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.
See how well South Dakota’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to South Dakota Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
Short Lemon Law Summary from South Dakota’s Attorney General.
ARTICLE: Lemon Law Demands Consumer Legwork.