When does a vehicle qualify?
- 3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 12,000 miles from purchase, or the warranty period.
Required actions and Timeline: The vehicle must be delivered to an authorized service and repair facility. If delivery is impossible, the owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer or the repair facility will oblige them to pay for the delivery.
- The manufacturer’s informal arbitration process serves as a prerequisite to consumer refund or replacement.
See how well Pennsylvania’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Pennsylvania Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
More Lemon Law Advice from Pennsylvania’s Attorney General.
Lemon Law Fact Sheet from PennDOT.