When does a vehicle qualify?
3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the same nonconformity, 8 total repairs of any nonconformity, 1 unsuccessful repair of a problem likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 1 year or 18,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must report to the manufacturer, its agent, or the dealer.
- Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
See how well Ohio’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Ohio Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
More Lemon Law Information from Ohio’s Attorney General.