When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 2 years or 18,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must provide notice to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer.
Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
Read New York’s Lemon Law Statute.
See how well New York’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to New York Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.