When does a vehicle qualify?
- 3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a serious safety defect likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 20 calendar days within the shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline:The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified mail and request a return receipt. The manufacturer has 10 days following the receipt to make a final repair attempt. The owner may notify the manufacturer at any time after the second repair attempt or after the first repair attempt in the case of a serious safety defect.
Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
See how well New Jersey’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to New Jersey Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs Lemon Law Unit.
The New Jersey Lemon Law Unit: Comprehensive New and Used Car Lemon Packet.