When does a vehicle qualify?
4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a total braking or steering loss likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days within the shorter of 2 years from purchase or the warranty period.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must provide written notice to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer, who will have the opportunity to make a final repair attempt.
Note: State has certified guidelines for arbitration. Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
See how well Minnesota’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Minnesota Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
More Lemon Law Information from Michigan’s Attorney General.