When does a new vehicle qualify?
- 3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 10 business days within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must provide notice to the manufacturer or dealer. The manufacturer or dealer has 7 business days to make a final repair attempt.
Note: State-run arbitration mechanism available.
See how well Massachusetts’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Massachusetts Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
Used Vehicles: State of Massachusetts Lemon Law Statute for Used Vehicles.
More Helpful Information:
State of Massachusetts Lemon Law Program Advice and Forms for New Vehicles.
State of Massachusetts Lemon Law Program Advice for Used Vehicles.