When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of braking or steering system, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 calendar days within the shorter of 15 months or 15,000 miles from purchase.
Required actions and Timeline:The owner must notify the manufacturer by certified mail and request a return receipt. The manufacturer or factory branch has 30 calendar days from the receipt of the notice to make a final repair attempt.
See how well Maryland’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Maryland Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
More Lemon Law Information from Maryland’s Attorney General.
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration Lemon Law Page.