... Skip to content

Massachussetts Lemon Law

rank 15 of 51

When does a Vehicle Qualify?

  • 3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 10 business days within shorter of 1 year or 15,000 miles from purchase.

Required actions and Timeline:

The owner must provide notice to the manufacturer or dealer. The manufacturer or dealer has 7 business days to make a final repair attempt.
Note: State-run arbitration mechanism available.

For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of Massachussetts’s lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Massachussetts Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.

More Helpful Information:

State of Massachusetts Lemon Law Program Advice and Forms for New Vehicles.
State of Massachusetts Lemon Law Program Advice for Used Vehicles.

Links to external attorney sites do not constitute an endorsement or legal advice by the Center for Auto Safety.

Massachussetts Lemon Law Statute