When does a vehicle qualify?
- 3 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect, 1 unsuccessful repair attempt of a nonconformity likely to cause death or serious injury, or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase.
Required actions and Timeline:The owner must send notice to the manufacturer by certified registered mail. The manufacturer has 10 calendar days from receipt of that notice to make a final repair attempt on the vehicle.
Note: Law specifically applies to leased vehicles.
Read Iowa’s Lemon Law Statute.
See how well Iowa’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Iowa Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
More Lemon Law Information from the Iowa Attorney General.
ARTICLE: Think you bought a lemon? Here’s what you need to know.