When does a vehicle qualify?
- 4 unsuccessful repair attempts of the defect or the vehicle is out of service for 30 days within shorter of 2 years or 24,000 miles of purchase; or 2 unsuccessful repairs of a defect likely to cause death or serious injury within 1 year of purchase or the warranty period.
Required actions and Timeline: The owner must report the problem to the manufacturer, agent, or dealer. Written notice to the manufacturer is only required if specified in the owner’s manual or warranty.
See how well Alabama’s Lemon Law stacks up against other states in the Center for Auto Safety’s Lemon Law Rankings.
For a look at the strengths or weaknesses of your state lemon law, see the Center for Auto Safety Letter to Connecticut Attorney General on Lemon Law Rank & Effectiveness.
More Helpful Information:
The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection New Vehicle Lemon Law Program.
The Connecticut Judicial Branch Lemon Law Research Library.
The Connecticut Lemon Law Automobile Dispute Settlement Program.
Result of Recent Claims Under Connecticut’s Lemon Law.